domingo, 31 de enero de 2010

Robbie Robertson - Contact from the Underworld of Red Boy - 1998

Excelente sucesor para el "Music for The Native Americans" de cuatro años atrás, éste "Contact from the Underworld of Red Boy" continúa explorando la música nativa americana sobre ritmos funk electronificados saludablemente




Throughout his solo career, Robbie Robertson has been as fascinated with sonics as he was with songwriting, so perhaps it wasn't entirely surprising that he collaborated with techno DJ/producer Howie B and remixer Marius de Vries on his fourth album, Contact from the Underworld of Redboy. Anyone familiar with his moody, atmospheric solo efforts will realize that there's a bigger jump between Music from Big Pink and Robbie Robertson than there is between the Daniel Lanois-produced Robbie Robertson and the ambient-flavored Contact, but the electronic textures and dance beats still may come as a shock to some. The electronics are interwoven with blues, folk, country and rock, as well as American Indian music. And, as on Music for the Native Americans, Robertson is primarily concerned with American Indians throughout Contact, whether it's through the chants of "Peyote Healing" or the protest of "Sacrifice," which features Leornard Peltier -- a Native American who has been imprisoned since 1976 on charges of murder many believe are fabricated -- on a telephone call. Both his lyrical and musical concerns can get bogged down in their own pretensions, but often, the results are provocative and unique. 
-- Stephen Thomas Erlewine, All-Music Guide




01. The Sound Is Fading
02. The Code Of Handsome Lake
03. Making A Noise
04. Unbound
05. Sacrifice
06. Rattlebone
07. Peyote Healing
08. In The Blood
09. Stomp Dance (Unity)
10. The Lights
11. Take Your Partner by the Hand (con Howie B.)

Robertson le cede la palabra a Leonard Peltier, preso desde 1976, de quien se dice que está encerrado por su condición de nativo americano, acusado de un crimen que no cometió.Personalidades como Nelson Mandela y el Dalai Lama intercedieron por él sin éxito.


Robbie Robertson, vocals/guitar/producer
Tim Simenon
Nellee Hooper
Lucien Jordain
Johnny Mike
Jeremy Shaw
Joanne Shenandoah
The Six Nations Women Singers
Quinn Yarborough
Leah Hicks-Manning
James Bilagody
Jackie Bird
Star Nayea
Ivan Nevile
Rita Coolidge
Cree Summer
Caroline MacKendrick
Bonnie Jo Hunt
Anthony Begay
Verdell Primeaux
Priscilla Coolidge
Laura Satterfield, vocals
Chief Jake Thomas
Leonard Peltier, spoken vocals
Bill Dillon, guitar
Mazti Galindo,flute
Jim Wilson, keyboards/drum/percussion/programming/engineer
Marius De Vries, producer
Tim Gordine, keyboards/programming/engineer
Jules Brooks, keyboards
Geoffrey Gordon, drums/frame drum/percussion
Rupert Brown
Benito Concha, drums
Jony Rockstar
Vinez Pvel
Andrew Scheps, programming
Madeleine Allakariallak
Phoebe Atagotaaluk, vocals
Howie B, producer/engineer
Tim Stroh, engineer
Carmen Rizzo, engineer

El último track, nombrado como bonus en la edición que poseo, es una colaboración con Howie B., quien ya lo había publicado en su propio álbum "Turn The Dark Off" el año anterior.


No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario